Matomo vs Umami
Both are in Web analytics. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Umami's cheapest paid plan is $20/mo, against $26/mo for Matomo.
- Fees: Matomo Custom pricing; Umami Custom pricing.
| Matomo | Umami | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | from $26/mo | Free plan · from $20/mo |
| Free plan | Not stated by the vendor | Yes |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Plans | Cloud Business ($26/mo); Cloud Enterprise () | Hobby ($0); Pro ($20/mo); Business ($200/mo); Enterprise () |
| Fees | Custom pricing | Custom pricing |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Google Analytics data importer; GDPR Manager; API access; Funnels and users flow | Event and page analytics with custom events; Funnel analysis and user retention; UTM parameter reports; API and MCP access (Pro and up) |
| Checked on | 2026-10-02 | 2026-10-03 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Matomo
- Free trial with no credit card
- Cloud includes hosting, updates and backups
- Report data retention is forever
- Get 2 months free with annual billing
Trade-offs
- Cloud price rises with monthly hits
- Extra hits cost $2.60 per 5,000
- On-Premise pricing was not shown in the page text
Umami
- Free Hobby plan with 100K events a month
- 14-day free trial of Pro and Business
- Open source
Trade-offs
- Hobby is limited to 1 website and 6 months of retention
- Extra events cost $0.00003 each on Pro
- Session replays and heatmaps need Business at $200 a month