LaunchDarkly vs Optimizely
Both are in A/B testing. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Fees: LaunchDarkly Pay as you go, billed yearly: $10 per service connection and $8.33 per 1,000 client-side MAU a month; Optimizely Custom, request a demo.
| LaunchDarkly | Optimizely | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan | Not verified yet |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Plans | Developer ($0); Foundation () | Agentic Experimentation () |
| Fees | Pay as you go, billed yearly: $10 per service connection and $8.33 per 1,000 client-side MAU a month | Custom, request a demo |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Unlimited feature flags across 30 SDKs; A/B tests and experiments; Session replays and error monitoring; AI configuration, evaluation and rollout | A/B, multi-page, feature and server-side testing; Proprietary Stats Engine; Real-time personalization and audience targeting; Warehouse-native analytics |
| Checked on | 2026-10-05 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
LaunchDarkly
- Free Developer plan with experimentation included
- No per-seat pricing
- Usage-based Foundation plan with a 14-day trial
Trade-offs
- Built for engineering teams rather than marketers
- Free keeps data for only 14 days
- Foundation cost varies with service connections and monthly active users
Optimizely
- Covers web, feature and server-side experimentation in one product
- Warehouse-native analytics
- Part of a wider content and commerce platform
Trade-offs
- No public pricing; plans are packaged individually through a sales conversation
- Built for larger teams rather than small sites
- No free trial listed