Google Analytics 4 vs Umami
Both are in Web analytics. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Fees: Google Analytics 4 states none; Umami Custom pricing.
| Google Analytics 4 | Umami | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan | Free plan · from $20/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated by the vendor | Yes |
| Plans | Free ($0) | Hobby ($0); Pro ($20/mo); Business ($200/mo); Enterprise () |
| Fees | Not stated | Custom pricing |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Cross-device and cross-platform customer journey analysis; Marketing ROI insights; Google Analytics for web and apps | Event and page analytics with custom events; Funnel analysis and user retention; UTM parameter reports; API and MCP access (Pro and up) |
| Checked on | 2026-10-02 | 2026-10-03 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Google Analytics 4
- Free of charge, according to Google
- Widely used and well integrated with other Google marketing tools
Trade-offs
- The overview page does not list plan limits or paid tiers
- Requires cookies or consent handling in many regions
Umami
- Free Hobby plan with 100K events a month
- 14-day free trial of Pro and Business
- Open source
Trade-offs
- Hobby is limited to 1 website and 6 months of retention
- Extra events cost $0.00003 each on Pro
- Session replays and heatmaps need Business at $200 a month