Buffer vs Sprout Social
Both are in Social media management. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Buffer's cheapest paid plan is $5/mo, against $79/mo for Sprout Social.
- Fees: Buffer states none; Sprout Social Custom pricing.
| Buffer | Sprout Social | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan · from $5/mo | from $79/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Plans | Free ($0); Essentials ($5/mo annual, $60/yr); Team ($10/mo annual, $120/yr) | Essentials ($99/mo, $79/mo annual); Standard ($199/mo annual); Professional ($299/mo annual); Advanced ($399/mo annual); Enterprise () |
| Fees | Not stated | Custom pricing |
| Best for | Creators, Small business | Not stated |
| Key features | Post scheduling per channel; Ideas and drafts; AI Assistant; Analytics (advanced on paid plans) | Publishing and content planning; Consolidated inbox and collaboration; Keyword and location monitoring; Review management |
| Checked on | 2026-10-01 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Buffer
- Free plan for up to 3 channels
- 14-day free trial of paid plans
- Priced per channel, so you pay only for what you connect
- API access on every plan
Trade-offs
- The free plan allows only 10 scheduled posts per channel
- Pricing is per channel, so cost grows with each account
- Approval workflows and unlimited team members need the Team plan
Sprout Social
- 30-day free trial with no card
- Includes a consolidated inbox and review management
- Add-ons for listening, analytics and employee advocacy
Trade-offs
- Priced per seat, from $79 a month for Essentials
- Standard starts at $199 a seat and covers 5 profiles
- Premium Analytics and Listening are paid add-ons