Benchmark Email vs Mailchimp
Both are in Email marketing. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Mailchimp's cheapest paid plan is $13/mo, against $16/mo for Benchmark Email.
- Fees: Benchmark Email At 1,000 contacts; price rises with contacts, Contact sales; for over 100,000 contacts; Mailchimp states none.
| Benchmark Email | Mailchimp | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan · from $16/mo | Free plan · from $13/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated by the vendor | Yes |
| Plans | Free ($0); Pro ($19/mo, $16/mo annual); Enterprise () | Free ($0); Essentials ($13/mo); Standard ($20/mo); Premium ($350/mo) |
| Fees | At 1,000 contacts; price rises with contacts; Contact sales; for over 100,000 contacts | Not stated |
| Best for | Not stated | Small business |
| Key features | Drag-and-drop email builder and ready-made templates; Every feature in every plan; AI credits (150 a month on Free, 1,000 on Pro); API keys (2 on Free, 10 on Pro) | Email campaigns and scheduling; Popup forms; Marketing automation flows (Standard and up); Generative AI features (Standard and up) |
| Checked on | 2026-10-04 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Benchmark Email
- Free plan with 500 contacts and no card
- Pro sends 10 times the contact limit each month
- Every feature included on every plan
Trade-offs
- Free is limited to 2,500 sends a month and shows Benchmark branding
- Pro includes 1 user; extra users are $15 a month each
- Price rises with contacts; Enterprise above 100,000 contacts is quoted
Mailchimp
- 14-day free trial of Standard
- A free plan for under 250 contacts
- 300+ integrations
- Nonprofit discount of 15%
Trade-offs
- Prices rise with contacts, and there are overage charges
- Premium starts at $350/mo
- Automation is limited to 4 steps on Essentials