Skip to content
Software for Marketers
Browse by stage

Optimizely vs PostHog

Both are in A/B testing. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.

The main differences

  • Fees: Optimizely Custom, request a demo; PostHog Same free tier each month, then pay for usage.
 OptimizelyPostHog
Starting priceNot verified yetFree plan
Free planNot stated by the vendorYes
Free trialNot stated by the vendorNot stated by the vendor
PlansAgentic Experimentation ()Free ($0); Pay-as-you-go ()
FeesCustom, request a demoSame free tier each month, then pay for usage
Best forNot statedNot stated
Key featuresA/B, multi-page, feature and server-side testing; Proprietary Stats Engine; Real-time personalization and audience targeting; Warehouse-native analyticsProduct and web analytics, 1M events a month free; Session replay, 5,000 recordings a month free; Feature flags (1M requests free) and experiments; Surveys and error tracking
Checked on2026-10-012026-10-03

Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.

Optimizely

  • Covers web, feature and server-side experimentation in one product
  • Warehouse-native analytics
  • Part of a wider content and commerce platform

Trade-offs

  • No public pricing; plans are packaged individually through a sales conversation
  • Built for larger teams rather than small sites
  • No free trial listed

Visit OptimizelyFull listing

PostHog

  • Free tier with no credit card that renews monthly, not a trial
  • Usage stops at the free limits, so no surprise bills
  • Unlimited team members

Trade-offs

  • The free plan has 1 project and 1-year data retention
  • Pay-as-you-go has no flat price, so cost depends on usage across products
  • Platform packages (SSO, audit logs, custom roles) are sold separately

Visit PostHogFull listing