Kit vs Substack
Both are in Newsletter platforms. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Fees: Kit states none; Substack 10% of paid-subscription revenue, plus credit card fees.
| Kit | Substack | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan · from $33/mo | Not verified yet |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Plans | Free ($0); Creator ($33/mo annual, $390/yr); Pro ($66/mo annual, $790/yr) | Revenue share () |
| Fees | Not stated | 10% of paid-subscription revenue, plus credit card fees |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Unlimited landing pages, forms and email broadcasts; Audience tagging and segmentation; Sell digital products and subscriptions; Visual automations and email sequences (Creator and up) | Newsletters with free and paid posts; Paid subscriptions set up in minutes; You own your content and subscriber list |
| Checked on | 2026-10-02 | 2026-10-02 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Kit
- Free for up to 10,000 subscribers
- 14-day free trial with no card
- Free migrations
- Unlimited users on Pro
Trade-offs
- Visual automations need Creator ($33 a month billed yearly)
- Prices are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with list size
- Kit branding stays until Creator
Substack
- No monthly fee is listed on the page
- Writers keep 90% of subscription revenue before card fees
- Set free or paid access post by post
Trade-offs
- Substack keeps 10% of revenue, on top of credit card fees
- The page does not list a plan comparison or feature tiers