GrowthBook vs Optimizely
Both are in A/B testing. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Fees: GrowthBook Per seat per month, Custom pricing; contact sales; Optimizely Custom, request a demo.
| GrowthBook | Optimizely | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan · from $40/mo | Not verified yet |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Not stated by the vendor | Not stated by the vendor |
| Plans | Starter ($0); Pro ($40/mo); Enterprise () | Agentic Experimentation () |
| Fees | Per seat per month; Custom pricing; contact sales | Custom, request a demo |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Unlimited experiments (A/B tests) and feature flags; Bring your own warehouse or a managed warehouse; Bayesian and frequentist statistics; AI Visual Editor and split URL tests (Pro) | A/B, multi-page, feature and server-side testing; Proprietary Stats Engine; Real-time personalization and audience targeting; Warehouse-native analytics |
| Checked on | 2026-10-03 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
GrowthBook
- Free plan with unlimited experiments, flags and traffic
- No credit card required to start
- Self-hosting is an option
Trade-offs
- Free is limited to 3 users and 1 project
- Pro is $40 per seat a month, so cost grows with the team
- SSO, approval workflows and uptime SLAs need Enterprise
Optimizely
- Covers web, feature and server-side experimentation in one product
- Warehouse-native analytics
- Part of a wider content and commerce platform
Trade-offs
- No public pricing; plans are packaged individually through a sales conversation
- Built for larger teams rather than small sites
- No free trial listed