Amplitude vs PostHog
Both are in Web analytics. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Fees: Amplitude Starts at $0, first 2M events a month free; credit card required, Custom, event based pricing; PostHog Same free tier each month, then pay for usage.
| Amplitude | PostHog | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan | Free plan |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated by the vendor | Not stated by the vendor |
| Plans | Free ($0); Plus ($0); Growth (); Enterprise () | Free ($0); Pay-as-you-go () |
| Fees | Starts at $0, first 2M events a month free; credit card required; Custom, event based pricing | Same free tier each month, then pay for usage |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Product analytics; Session replay (10K a month on Free); Experimentation, guides and surveys; AI agents and MCP | Product and web analytics, 1M events a month free; Session replay, 5,000 recordings a month free; Feature flags (1M requests free) and experiments; Surveys and error tracking |
| Checked on | 2026-10-03 | 2026-10-03 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Amplitude
- Free plan with 2M events a month and no credit card
- First 2M events a month are free on Plus
- A free year of Growth for startups under $10M funding and fewer than 20 employees
Trade-offs
- Plus needs a credit card
- Growth and Enterprise are quote-based, with event-based pricing
- Free has limited experiments, guides and surveys
PostHog
- Free tier with no credit card that renews monthly, not a trial
- Usage stops at the free limits, so no surprise bills
- Unlimited team members
Trade-offs
- The free plan has 1 project and 1-year data retention
- Pay-as-you-go has no flat price, so cost depends on usage across products
- Platform packages (SSO, audit logs, custom roles) are sold separately