Screaming Frog SEO Spider vs Surfer SEO
Both are in SEO tools. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Screaming Frog SEO Spider's cheapest paid plan is $23.25/mo, against $49/mo for Surfer SEO.
- Fees: Screaming Frog SEO Spider $279 per licence per year; discounts for 5+ licences; Surfer SEO Custom pricing.
| Screaming Frog SEO Spider | Surfer SEO | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan · from $23.25/mo | from $49/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Not stated by the vendor | Not stated by the vendor |
| Plans | Free Version ($0); Paid Version ($23.25/mo annual, $279/yr) | Discovery ($49/mo annual); AI Search Analytics ($82/mo annual); Standard ($99/mo annual); Pro ($182/mo annual); Peace of Mind ($299/mo annual); Enterprise () |
| Fees | $279 per licence per year; discounts for 5+ licences | Custom pricing |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Crawl a website to audit technical SEO; Find broken links; XML sitemap generator; Web scraping | Create or optimize content documents; 1-click content optimization; AI visibility tracking across ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews; Content ideas and coverage gaps (Pro and up) |
| Checked on | 2026-10-03 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Screaming Frog SEO Spider
- Free version crawls up to 500 URLs
- Paid licence is $279 a year per user
- Volume discounts: $265 for 5 to 9 licences, $249 for 10 to 19, $235 for 20+
Trade-offs
- The free version is limited to 500 URLs
- Licences are per user, so two users need two licences
- The URL limit on the paid version depends on allocated memory and storage
Surfer SEO
- Offers a free start on every plan (terms not stated on the page)
- Content optimization built in
- Includes AI search visibility tracking
Trade-offs
- Entry plan is $49 a month billed yearly and covers 120 documents
- API access needs the $299 Peace of Mind plan
- Monthly-billing prices were not shown on the page