Frase vs Surfer SEO
Both are in SEO tools. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Frase's cheapest paid plan is $39/mo, against $49/mo for Surfer SEO.
- Fees: Frase states none; Surfer SEO Custom pricing.
| Frase | Surfer SEO | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | from $39/mo | from $49/mo |
| Free plan | No | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Plans | Starter ($49/mo, $39/mo annual); Professional ($129/mo, $103/mo annual); Scale ($299/mo, $239/mo annual) | Discovery ($49/mo annual); AI Search Analytics ($82/mo annual); Standard ($99/mo annual); Pro ($182/mo annual); Peace of Mind ($299/mo annual); Enterprise () |
| Fees | Not stated | Custom pricing |
| Best for | Not stated | Not stated |
| Key features | Articles and audit pages each month by plan; SEO and GEO scores; AI Visibility on ChatGPT and Google AI (Perplexity on Professional); Content Guard watches pages for Google decay | Create or optimize content documents; 1-click content optimization; AI visibility tracking across ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews; Content ideas and coverage gaps (Pro and up) |
| Checked on | 2026-10-03 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Frase
- Free 7-day trial with no credit card
- Yearly billing saves 20%
- Plans for solos, in-house teams and agencies
Trade-offs
- Starter covers 1 seat, 1 site and 10 articles a month
- Professional extra seats are $29 a month
- Month-to-month pricing is higher: $49, $129 and $299
Surfer SEO
- Offers a free start on every plan (terms not stated on the page)
- Content optimization built in
- Includes AI search visibility tracking
Trade-offs
- Entry plan is $49 a month billed yearly and covers 120 documents
- API access needs the $299 Peace of Mind plan
- Monthly-billing prices were not shown on the page