Buffer vs Later
Both are in Social media management. Here is how their plans, prices and features compare, taken from each vendor's own site.
The main differences
- Buffer's cheapest paid plan is $5/mo, against $18.75/mo for Later.
| Buffer | Later | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan · from $5/mo | from $18.75/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Plans | Free ($0); Essentials ($5/mo annual, $60/yr); Team ($10/mo annual, $120/yr) | Starter ($18.75/mo annual); Growth ($37.50/mo annual); Scale ($82.50/mo annual) |
| Fees | Not stated | Not stated |
| Best for | Creators, Small business | Not stated |
| Key features | Post scheduling per channel; Ideas and drafts; AI Assistant; Analytics (advanced on paid plans) | Calendar scheduling across 8 networks; Best times to post; Collaboration and approvals; Social inbox (Growth and up) |
| Checked on | 2026-10-01 | 2026-10-01 |
Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Full details and sources are on each tool's page.
Buffer
- Free plan for up to 3 channels
- 14-day free trial of paid plans
- Priced per channel, so you pay only for what you connect
- API access on every plan
Trade-offs
- The free plan allows only 10 scheduled posts per channel
- Pricing is per channel, so cost grows with each account
- Approval workflows and unlimited team members need the Team plan
Later
- 14-day free trial
- Yearly billing is 25% off, three months free
- A social set covers every supported network for one brand
Trade-offs
- Growth allows only 2 social sets and 2 users
- Extra social sets cost $11.25 a month each
- AI content tools are limited by monthly credits